Ad Image

The Top 9 Cybersecurity Certifications For Security Pros in 2019

Will XDR Supplant SIEM? What Does the Future Hold?

The Top 9 Cybersecurity Certifications For Security Pros in 2019

Which enterprise-level cybersecurity certifications are in the highest demand? Why should your enterprise care about security certifications? And how can your security professionals get those cybersecurity certifications? 

Cybersecurity certifications verify the qualifications and the knowledge of your cybersecurity professionals. Furthermore, working towards achieving cybersecurity certifications can open new avenues for threat intelligence and incident response techniques.   

Widget not in any sidebars

With cybersecurity certifications, your IT team can boost its productivity and close possible skills gaps; with the continuation of the cybersecurity skills crisis in enterprises around the globe, both take on increased importance. The cybersecurity certifications process can help professionals stay versatile in their skills and grow their experience.

Here’s what you need to know about the top nine cybersecurity certifications for security professionals in 2019 

The Top 9 Cybersecurity Certifications for Security Pros in 2019

1. Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP)

The CISSP certification comes from the International Information Systems Security Certification Consortium (ISC)². It examines knowledge of eight different domains of IT security mastery including security operations, asset security, and network security. 

Moreover, the CISSP certification demonstrates the technical knowledge for effective cybersecurity design, engineering, and management. It is highly respected in information security as a standard of expertise.  

CISSP requires five years of paid work experience in at least two of the domains of knowledge and a college degree as necessary prerequisites.

2. Certified Information Security Manager (CISM)

The Information Systems Audit and Control Association (ISACA) offers their CISM certification for IT professionals. This certification demonstrates ability in management, development, and monitoring of information security systems in enterprise-level applications. Additionally, it shows the holder can develop best enterprise-level security practices. 

To receive this certification, your professional must pass the exam and must agree to the ISACA Code of Professional Ethics. Also, the professional must have a minimum of five years of information security work experience.

3. Certified Ethical Hacker (CEH)

Here, the International Council of E-Commerce Consultants (EC-Council) offers your professionals the opportunity to become white-hat hackers. The Certified Ethical Hacker (CEH) certification works to develop ethical hacking methodology through its training and exams. With this knowledge in hand, your professionals can better identify system vulnerabilities and other access points.  

This is an intermediate-level credential; it asks for prerequisites including formal training or two years of information security-related experience. Additionally, applicants must have an educational background in information security.

4. CompTIA Security+ (SYO-401)

The CompTIA Security+ (SYO-401) offers vendor-neutral and entry-level security certification. By receiving it, security professionals display expertise in threat management, identity management, security risk identification, and other security systems.  

Successful candidates of CompTIA Security+ certification should possess at least two years of experience working in enterprise network security.

5. Certified Cloud Security Professional (CCSP)

CCSP also comes from the (ISC)² and concerns itself with the cloud. Specifically, the certification shows skills in cloud security architecture, design, and operations. Moreover, it also shows knowledge of rising and persistent threats and the ability to apply best practices. 

To receive the CSSP, your professional must have a minimum of five years of cumulative work experience. However, this includes three years in information security and one year in one of the CCSP Common Body of Knowledge.  

6. Offensive Security Certified Professional (OSCP) 

Another ethical hacking certification, the OSCP certification offers hands-on penetration testing; one component of its evaluation is successfully penetrating an endpoint in a lab environment.

Indeed, the OSCP certification can prove a significantly advanced test for IT security professionals; the test itself takes place over 24 hours. Yet the benefits are palpable. It can help professionsla identify existing vulnerabilities and modify exploitation code to your advantage. To qualify, your IT professional must first complete the Penetration Testing with Kali Linux training course.  

7. SANS GIAC Security Essentials 

The SANS GIAC Security Essentials comes from the Global Information Assurance Certification (GIAC) and offers an entry-level certification. It demonstrates an understanding of information security terminology and concepts as well as hands-on security knowledge. 

The knowledge and technical skills verified by the SANS GIAC Security Essentials includes handling wireless attacks, access controls, and authentication. 

Furthermore, as an entry-level credential, it does not have prerequisites (although it does recommend training). This may prove a good place to start for incoming cybersecurity professionals looking to supplement their knowledge.

8. Certified Information Systems Auditor (CISA)

Once again, we look at another ISACA sponsored certification—Certified Information Systems Auditor (CISA). Indeed, this certification focuses primarily on auditing and auditor skills. 

Indeed, auditing and monitoring information technology systems are important tasks for enterprises of any size. The CISA demonstrates enterprise-level auditing as well as vulnerability, IT management, and governance. Additionally, this certification is accredited by the American National Standards Institute.

9. Computer Hacking Forensic Investigator (CHFI)     

The Computer Hacking Forensic Investigator (CHFI) verifies your hacking forensic investigators—a critical member of your security operations center.   

Hacking forensic investigators analyze attacks and extricate information to uncover cybercrimes; these crimes can include malware as well as identity theft and long-term fraud. Also, hacking forensic investigators conduct audits to prevent future cyber attacks. Moreover, with this certification, your forensic professional demonstrates their ability to gather evidence during threat hunting. 

What Cybersecurity Certifications Can Offer Your Enterprise

First, the certification and regular recertification processes keep your team sharp in its cybersecurity knowledge. Second, having diverse expertise and knowledge in your security operations center or your IT security team only strengthens it over time; they can draw on each other’s expertise and learn from each other for faster response times. 

In fact, the more cybersecurity experience you have, the easier deploying and managing your cybersecurity solutions. This includes cybersecurity solutions with a noted reputation for difficulty like SIEM—a solution made increasingly necessary by the evolving threat landscape. 

More knowledge equals more confidence and more resources to draw on in the future. Each certification represents a long-term but worthwhile investment in your overall enterprise cybersecurity. You need to start making these considerations today before it becomes too late.  

In addition to learning more about the top cybersecurity certifications, you should check out our SIEM Buyer’s Guide. We cover the key solution providers and their log management and threat detection capabilities. Additionally, we explore each one’s key capabilities with a Bottom Line Analysis. 

Download Link to SIEM Vendor Map


Share This

Related Posts